Windows Support Forum

Windows restarts when laptop is closed

Q: Windows restarts when laptop is closed

hi im having a problem with my hibernation mode when my laptop is shut when i close the laptop windows restarts and leaves an error code when started up again the computer runs fine besides this and is days old i might add i have recently updated through microsoft 'a shut down update' standard procedure before this update hibernation worked fine i dont know if this could have anything to do with it but regardless i am new with vista my computer specs dell studio ' windows vista home premium bit service pack the problem signature is specified quot Windows has recovered from an unexpected shutdown quot Problem signature Problem Event Name BlueScreen OS Version Locale ID Additional information about the problem BCCode e BCP FFFFFFFFC BCP FFFFF FD B BCP FFFFFA D BCP FFFFFA D OS Version Service Pack Product Files that help describe the problem C Windows Minidump Mini - dmp C Users Kyle AppData Local Temp WER- - sysdata xml C Users Kyle AppData Local Temp WER E tmp version txt i am going to college laptop restarts closed is Windows when in a few days and this needs to be fixed please help in whatever way possible thank you

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: Windows restarts when laptop is closed

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.

You can download it direct from this link http://downloadreimage.com/directdownload.php. (This link will automatically start a download of Reimage that you can save to your computer.)

A: Windows restarts when laptop is closed

Originally Posted by khanson