Windows Support Forum

missing desk top icons and start menu

Q: missing desk top icons and start menu

Hi everyone!
ok i am a newbie, noob , whatever and i sure could use some help here. My problem is the other comp I have are missing its desk top icons and start menu. and wouldnt you just know it,?? my son hasnt the slightest idea of how it happened. hmm. is there anyone that can give me a little assistance of what i may could do to get this stuff back?? any little itty bitty help at this time is better than none....... please!!!!!!!!

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: missing desk top icons and start menu

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.

You can download it direct from this link http://downloadreimage.com/directdownload.php. (This link will automatically start a download of Reimage that you can save to your computer.)

A: missing desk top icons and start menu

Check the recycle bin and see if they are still there.

If you are using XP choose a restore point when you know the icons where there. This should solve the issue

http://www.techspot.com/community/topics/missing-desk-top-icons-and-start-menu.59200/
Relevancy 94.6%

I just lost my desk top and start menu short cuts while installing a plugin from internet. It was a flash supporting plugin. I don't know what happened after installation. Anyway, antivirus that I installed in my lap showed that Some malware found after it's installation.
I don't know what to do.......
Pleas, help me????????

A:Lost my desk top and start menu icons and short cuts!