Windows Support Forum

Ethernet vs Wifi and Confusion

Q: Ethernet vs Wifi and Confusion

Okay so before I begin I'd like to say I am relatively new to computing and I'm not the most knowledgeable.

Let me explain my setup:
I have a HP Envy SleekBook Laptop which is connected to my BT Wifi through a NetGear HomePlug which should give me wired internet.

I cannot move the router which is that the other side of the house and I decided to test me internet speed on speedtest.net I got nearly exactly the same values when using the ethernet cable and when connecting to the internet.

I often have ping spikes and lag in CS:GO.

That is my main issue and my secondary discussion is if this is a good setup : (I have ordered this stuff)

https://www.vibox.co.uk/promotions/defcon1blue
http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00B7ZE0G2/ref=twister_B00L17TXY0?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-CH-...id=1434810239&sr=1-2&keywords=corsair+k70+rgb

Thanks <3

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: Ethernet vs Wifi and Confusion

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.

You can download it direct from this link http://downloadreimage.com/directdownload.php. (This link will automatically start a download of Reimage that you can save to your computer.)

A: Ethernet vs Wifi and Confusion

HMM. and your problem / question is ...

http://www.techspot.com/community/topics/ethernet-vs-wifi-and-confusion.216646/
Relevancy 59.77%

Hello,

I have a hopefully simple problem to solve!
I'm in a shared house and the wireless router lives just outside my room. However, the wireless has been playing up a lot lately and keeps dropping out.