Windows Support Forum

Faulty Mobo or CPU need advice before I buy

Q: Faulty Mobo or CPU need advice before I buy

Hi guys I need a bit of advice I have been working with PCs for several years now and some of that in a hardware support role but this one has stumped me I have a Athlon MSI KT Ultra Mobo W PSU Gb RAM Gb Hard Disk Geforce and Soundblaster Live and the advice buy I need Mobo or Faulty before CPU usual otehr PC Gubbins I built the machine about months ago and everything was fine However two problems have started to show Faulty Mobo or CPU need advice before I buy The first is that I started to get IRQ NOT LESS THAN OR EQUAL errors with the obvious BSOD that goes with it this happened during gameplay sometimes but always on shutdown or if I booted from the Win XP CD I found that if I downclocked the FSB to MHz making my CPU a then it all works ok So I figured it must be the RAM so I changed it but the same errors started when I bumped the FSB back up to MHz I have also since tried removing and or changing every component but no diffrence I did however read that MSI has problems with the AGP port and the FSB when running at MHz so I therefore think it must be the mobo To confirm this I started getting a keyboard or mouse is not connected error on boot so I had to restart it to get past the POST screen again I thought Mobo but I changed the PSU back to the one that came with the case and that error dissapeared but again couldnt run the FSB at MHz So in conclusion should I get a new Mobo or CPU or what do you guys think Cheers Magnus nbsp

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: Faulty Mobo or CPU need advice before I buy

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.