Windows Support Forum

Seeking overclocking & memory selection for X79 system build

Q: Seeking overclocking & memory selection for X79 system build

I am not a for overclocking build selection system Seeking X79 & memory gamer I Seeking overclocking & memory selection for X79 system build play games occasionally but don t build systems for gaming I am a commercial photographer architectural product industrial I shoot high mega pixel files build and save multiple copies layered Photoshop files very large scans and video footage I need a lot of storage space processing speed transfer speed and memory My previous builds have been dual Xeon systems and x Win OS since Win Previous systems have included dual Ghz dual Ghz dual Mhz amp dual Mhz using Asus amp Supermicro boards Besides my workstations I ve built a half dozen other systems The last systems have included drive RAID arrays in RAID config for working video files I haven t built a system in about years My goal is to build a system suitable for my photo video needs that provides modest stable overclocking - targeting Ghz I am also interested in combining a pair of Seagate Hybrid drives Momentus XT in RAID as the OS drive for a balance of space and performance rather than going to SSD I ve never played with Overclocking nor water cooled systems As I start this build I am tight on funds and propose to bake in a planned future upgrade to allow the cost of those components to go down and still see an immediate jump in speed over my current system I expect this new build to be X as fast as my current system minute render in minutes The future upgrade will further potentially double the speed - min Build purchased so far gt Corsair Carbide R case - selected for large side fan USB eSATA amp Firewire ports on front face gt ASRock X Extreme MoBo selected for GB support USB SATA III RAID also for fairly simple Overclocking capability gt MasterCooler Gold w PSU gt Corsair H Hydro CPU Cooler kit extra fans for push pull airf