Windows Support Forum

MCafee states I am on Windows 98 but on WinMe

Q: MCafee states I am on Windows 98 but on WinMe

I have just joined this site and the reason why was was because When I down loaded MCafee it stated it had detected I was using Windows 98 but I am on Windows Me. When I bought this pc for my son a few years ago it came with windows 98 but my son changed it to Windows Me. I bought my son a new PC and he gave me this for my studies. (wish I kept the new one now but he has just started Uni so) How can I rectif this I am a novice on IT but before I went onto broadband alot of drivers were missing I.e for my installed modem which came with windows 98. Plus there are alot of Yellow exclamation marks in the C drive list of the hard drive but I would be here all night so I will start with the above first. Thanks

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: MCafee states I am on Windows 98 but on WinMe

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.

You can download it direct from this link http://downloadreimage.com/directdownload.php. (This link will automatically start a download of Reimage that you can save to your computer.)

A: MCafee states I am on Windows 98 but on WinMe

It might just consider ME to be 98, they are built on the same backbone so to speak. Many things will recognise things as 95 OR 98/ME. If McAfee is working properly otherwise I wouldn't worry about it.

http://www.techspot.com/community/topics/mcafee-states-i-am-on-windows-98-but-on-winme.42279/
Relevancy 66.22%