Windows Support Forum

Brand new hp laptop won't install important updates due to 3 error codes...

Q: Brand new hp laptop won't install important updates due to 3 error codes...

I just received a new hp pavilion dv6227cl entertainment notebook in the mail. The computer said that it had 98 important updates it needed to install so I tried installing them and only 24 were able to be installed. It said the other 74 updates couldn't be installed because of error codes 8024402C, 80070020, and 80071A90. How can there be error codes already when it's new? I've already run a virus search on the computer and that didn't solve anything.

If anyone could give me any advice I would really appreciate it. Please just let me know if there's any other information you need. This is my first time posting in a pc forum.

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: Brand new hp laptop won't install important updates due to 3 error codes...

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.

You can download it direct from this link http://downloadreimage.com/directdownload.php. (This link will automatically start a download of Reimage that you can save to your computer.)

A: Brand new hp laptop won't install important updates due to 3 error codes...

Welcome aboard Please download Farbar Service Scanner Download Link and run it on the computer with the issue.Make sure the following options are checked:

Internet ServicesWindows FirewallSystem RestoreSecurity Center/Action CenterWindows UpdateWindows DefenderPress "Scan".It will create a log (FSS.txt) in the same directory the tool is run.Please copy and paste the log to your reply.