Windows Support Forum

Upgrading 3.33GHz 512MB RAM Windows XP PC

Q: Upgrading 3.33GHz 512MB RAM Windows XP PC

Hi all I have an eMachines W Ghz MB RAM Windows XP Media Center PC bought in - ish It s not my regular computer it s my old computer that is at my parent s house I visit them every - months depending on my schedule so those are the only times that I am on this PC I do not game or do heavy intensive type things I am a full time nurse and part time student so the majority of what I do is browsing the internet Microsoft Word documents for homework email etc I don t stream music videos or any other type of media I d like to make this computer work a RAM 3.33GHz XP Upgrading Windows PC 512MB little faster if possible I know there is Upgrading 3.33GHz 512MB RAM Windows XP PC controversy over upgrading the RAM in older computers so I m wondering if my situation would benefit from that at all To even click the start menu you can hear the computer crunching and it really gets on my nerves Switching tabs in Google Chrome loads slowly from top to bottom like I m trying to load a large photo from Google Image Search Aside from all that I don t see a need to purchase a whole new computer simply for - weeks usage for - times per year If this is the best speed this computer can do I can put up with it however if there is anything I can do with the RAM that would be nice as well I deleted a lot of programs in the Add Remove Programs list ran a registry fix and changed some settings on how things load in the computer I really don t want to change the visual to the classic mode I did a scan with Crucial System Scanner and it located my MB of DDR RAM and suggested GB of DDR PC or PC RAM -pin DIMM I have Amazon Prime free shipping and found Komputerbay GB x GB DDR DIMM PIN Mhz PC for with free shipping This seems like a fairly cheap upgrade also advertises a lifetime warranty not sure how legit that is but I m concerned that it will actually help and also be compatible Sugges