Windows Support Forum

Upgrading my desktop after a while (on a budget)

Q: Upgrading my desktop after a while (on a budget)

I currently own a dell XPS 8300 with the following specs:

Processor: i7 2600 3.4 ghz quad core
RAM: 12 gb
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6670
PSU: 460W
I am a computer science student and plan on using unreal engine 4 for some game development. I also plan to do some gaming over the next 4 months.

What do you guys think I need to upgrade, if at all? I don't want to spend too much money, I recently received a $75 gift card for best buy and would prefer to use that towards my purchase.

What do you guys think of the following:

ZOTAC GeForce 750 Ti 2GB

Diamond Radeon R7 250 OC 1GB GDDR5

ZOTAC GeForce GTX 750 2GB GDDR5

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: Upgrading my desktop after a while (on a budget)

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.

You can download it direct from this link http://downloadreimage.com/directdownload.php. (This link will automatically start a download of Reimage that you can save to your computer.)

Relevancy 61.92%

I'm looking for a motherboard for my current ATX case. Currently, if you look at my specs, I am using an ECS L7VMM v1.1 with an AMD Athlon XP 1700+ processor and 512 MB DDR SDRAM. I will upgrade the RAM soon enough but I'd like to know what would be the best solution on a $200 budget, maybe $300 if I can get a halfway decent processor on the cheap. Must have AGP 8x/4x as I currently use GeForce FX 5500 and would like it keep it that way for now. Wouldn't be for anything special other than DOS playability via WIndows 98 and VB programming via Win 2K/XP.