Windows Support Forum

HDD shows up in BIOS but not Windows

Q: HDD shows up in BIOS but not Windows

I have read many posts attempting to solve my own issue all the while failing Some proper assitance will be needed so I needed to create my own post I have a Seagate TB HDD I have been using shows up not BIOS but Windows in HDD for a couple years My girlfriend is a photographer and she filled up HDD shows up in BIOS but not Windows the drive Prior to being able to afford a new one she crashed windows and it would no longer start up Bought a new drive thought my task would be simple however upon booting windows to my new drive the old drive had not shown up I checked the bios and it is visible there The Data on that drive is irreplaceble So by attempting to solve my own issue here is what I have tried -Checking bios for other drive boot options -switching the cables on the drive multiple times -using a different computer -checking disk management -using seagate drive tools -using windows boot disk -using Memory Diagnostic Tools only other method I have read but havent tried is using an external casing in an attempt to get it to apper however I have my doubts on whether that would work If I am wrong please correct me So to be Clear -HDD with essential data on it Seagate TB -Shows up in Bios -Does not show up in Window Disk management or in Seatools Also will not appear for a Windows install disk I appreciate The Help nbsp

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: HDD shows up in BIOS but not Windows

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.