Windows Support Forum

dlink 704p needs reconnecting

Q: dlink 704p needs reconnecting

Be gentle with me, I'm new to the networking side of computers.

I've recently set up my two computers (relatively new DELLs) so I can have internet (ADSL) on both. It works, but every 10-20mins the internet drops out I have to pull the power plug from the router (Dlink DI 704P) and plug it back in again then everything's ok for another few mins.

Any ideas about whats going wrong?

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: dlink 704p needs reconnecting

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.

You can download it direct from this link (This link will automatically start a download of Reimage that you can save to your computer.)

A: dlink 704p needs reconnecting

Sounds like it could be a flakey router.
Relevancy 39.99%

First of all, sorry for my bad english.
My pc was working perfectly for about a year now, but these days it started having problems.
In the past few weeks it started disconnecting from the internet with the message: you don't have a valid
ip configuration. (It was working on the other pc connected to the router with lan, and on the notebook connected through wifi)
A reboot of the pc/router did always solve my problem in these situations.
Yesterday, my internet connection started connecting/reconnecting, and I couldn't solve it in any way, not with
a restart, and not with that network repair tool (idk it's name, I have hungarian windows). When it stayed connected for more then 2 seconds I was even able to load google, youtube, other sites,