Windows Support Forum

Switching from ATI Radeon 5570 to GeForce 7900 GT OC

Q: Switching from ATI Radeon 5570 to GeForce 7900 GT OC

Hi guys
I recently purchased a new PC from HP that came with an ATI Radeon 5570 installed. I don't like this card, and I have an older PC with a GeForce 7900 GT OC in it. Would it be possible to do a clean swap-out with these two cards? Do i need to download the GeForce drivers onto the PC first? I'm a newb and have never switched video cards out before so I don't really know where to begin. Any help would be appreciated.
thanks!

Relevancy 100%
Preferred Solution: Switching from ATI Radeon 5570 to GeForce 7900 GT OC

I recommend downloading and running Reimage. It's a computer repair tool that has been proven to identify and fix many Windows problems with a high level of success.

I've used it in the past to identify and fix everything from blue screens (BSOD's), ActiveX errors, corrupt files and processes, dll/exe/sys errors, recover lost memory, Windows update problems, defragging, malware removal etc.

You can download it direct from this link http://downloadreimage.com/directdownload.php. (This link will automatically start a download of Reimage that you can save to your computer.)

A: Switching from ATI Radeon 5570 to GeForce 7900 GT OC

First you need to uninstall the ATI drivers and software, then you can shut down the computer and replace the ATI Radeon 5570 with the GeForce 7900 GT. Turn on the computer once you have it back together and get into windows. From there go to NVIDIA Driver Downloads to download and install the right drivers for your OS. After that you should have to reboot the computer and then your done.

http://www.techspot.com/community/topics/switching-from-ati-radeon-5570-to-geforce-7900-gt-oc.156425/
Relevancy 71.81%

hi all,
I have an Inspiron 560. I just ordered a new video card upgrade for it. I ordered a VisionTEK ATI Radeon HD 5570.